spark joy

By Jen Richmond in blogdown workflow

November 11, 2021

I am gradually moving my blog from my old hugo portfolio themed repo into this new hugo apero themed site, and I’m realising that my blog posts are getting plentiful enough that I need to think about structure. I need a little Marie Kondo in my blog life.

In my old blog, the posts were all on one page, with cards that were presented in a jigsaw pattern so I can just scroll down pretty quickly to find what I am looking for.

In the hugo apero theme, I have chosen a grid layout where the most recent 8 posts appear but then I have to click Older to page across to the next 8.

Some kind of category or tagging system is going to be helpful.

In the yaml, there are fields to add tags and categories, I think they have always been there, I have just never tried to use them… so here we go.

Lets see what that does… if anything!

Ahhh it does something! The tags end up in the details section that you can pull down from each post. There is also a read time estimate and word count there- nice!

What about categories?

Ah ha! It didn’t look like the category did anything until I did serve_site() and pushed back to github, but it worked.

The category appears next to the author line and tags appear in the details- excellent!

I also really like being able to specify a summary in the yaml. By default it prints the first paragraph or so from your post, but maybe with shorter descriptions, I might be able to git more posts on a page!

Posted on:
November 11, 2021
Length:
2 minute read, 277 words
Categories:
blogdown workflow
Tags:
blogdown workflow
See Also:
hotkeys